Home » Parent Support » User Guide » Setting Teaching Mode/Tutor Mode

Setting Teaching Mode/Tutor Mode

We allow parents to switch between “Teaching Mode” and “Tutor Mode” for each course.  Changing to “Tutor Mode” will allow your student to view all of the steps within the course and may jump to any step.

The “mode” for a course can be set from the parent account.

Log into your parent account. Select the “manage account” button.

Select the edit button by your student’s name.

  • Tutoring Mode – Allows students to skip around to steps in a course that they may need to review. (Please see FAQ section for more information)
  • Teaching Mode – Courses are automatically set to homeschool mode as a default. (Please see FAQ section for more information)

When working on a course in tutor mode, the student will be able to jump to any step within the course. They will see different highlighted markers by each step.

Blue: Incomplete
Green: Completed
Yellow: Place Holder (The student was working most recently on this step.)
Red: Retake (The student scored low on this step, they will need to retake it.)

Helpful Tips:

If you decide to have your student stay in “Tutor Mode”, every step will need to be completed and marked ‘green’ before the student will be awarded a ‘Completion Certificate’.  They also cannot have any steps marked ‘red’ due to a non-passing score.

Once every step is marked green, a new step will appear at the bottom labeled ‘End of Course’–listed below the Final Exam.  You will then be able to click on that step and complete out the course.